What is Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE)?

Modified on Mon, 14 Sep 2015 at 10:22 AM

Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) system was introduced by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in India to assess all aspects of a student’s development on a continuous basis throughout the year. The assessment covers both scholastic subjects as well as co-scholastic areas such as performance in sports, art, music, dance, drama, and other cultural activities and social qualities.

For more information on the CCE grading system, visit http://www.cbse.nic.in/cce/index.html#

Evaluation of Scholastic Areas

Scholastic subjects are assessed using two modes: Formative Assessment (FA) and Summative Assessment (SA). Formative Assessment usually comprises of Class Tests, Homework, Quizzes, Projects, and Assignments directed throughout the year. Summative Assessment measures how much a student has learnt from the class through an examination/test conducted at the end of a term.

For institutions following the CCE grading system, typically an academic year is divided into two terms. Each term will have two FAs and one SAs. The weightage allotted to each term and assessment is as follows.

Term 1

Term 2














Term Weightage



Total: Formative Assessments (FA) = FA1+FA2+ FA3+FA4 = 40%

Summative Assessments (SA) = SA1+SA2 = 60%

Scholastic Assessment grades are generally given on a 9 point grading scale.

Evaluation of Co-Scholastic Areas

Co-Scholastic areas are assessed using multiple techniques on the basis of specific criteria. Assessment of co-scholastic areas are done at the end of the year, and grades are generally given on a 5 point grading scale.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article