About Indian Certificate For Secondary Education (ICSE)

Modified on Wed, 02 Sep 2015 at 12:43 PM

The Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) is an examination conducted by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations for students of class 10 or grade 10. It has been designed to provide an examination in a course of general education, in line with the recommendations of the New Education Policy 1986 (India), through the medium of English.

ICSE Grading System in India

The ICSE grading system generally comprises of two terms in an academic year. Students are required to take up seven subjects; 4 compulsory subjects and 3 subjects of choice. Students are evaluated based on the following two modes: External Assessment (EA) and Internal Assessment (IA). EA is the final written exams. 20% of marks in every subject is allotted for IA. For IA, students are evaluated based on multiple criteria aimed at assessing not only a student’s writing ability, but also other abilities such as understanding, creativity, presentation skills, speaking skills, inter-personal and intra-personal skills, case studies, report writing, discussions, debates, and so on.For more information on the ICSE grading system, visit http://www.cisce.org/

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article