Yes, It is possible to revert back the completed task into assigned at later point of time.
  1. At the top of your dashboard, click the module access icon > Collaboration > Tasks..
  2. Go to task and click on the specific task which is already completed. Then click on mark as assigned. Refer the figure.



For more clarifications, please watch this.

agq9XN1W6pFlc-02pmc_bK7qleciH0X4SA.gif